Minimum Car Insurance Required by Oregon State
- Oregon law requires all drivers to carry a minimum of liability insurance. As of May 2011, drivers must carry bodily injury and property damage insurance of $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident in bodily injury to others and $25,000 per accident in property damage insurance. Drivers must also purchase $15,000 in personal injury protection and uninsured motor vehicle coverage of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per crash per bodily injury.
No Collision Requirement
- Oregon does not require motorists to carry collision insurance. This type of insurance covers damage to your vehicle in the event of an accident; if you do not carry collision insurance, you may have to pay for repairs to your car out of pocket after a crash. If you are paying a loan on your vehicle, your lender may require you to carry collision insurance to cover its losses in the event the car is totaled before you pay off the loan.
- Farm equipment, such as tractors and trailers, is exempt from liability insurance requirements in Oregon, as are collector's items or antique vehicles that secure permanent registration. The Oregon DMV does not expect drivers to use these vehicles in traffic; thus, they do not need to be insured against loss from traffic accidents. Snowmobiles, motor scooters and personal mobility devices are also exempt from the mandatory liability coverage law as of May 2011.
Proof of Insurance
- You must provide proof of insurance each time you register your vehicle in Oregon. In addition, you must sign a statement agreeing to carry insurance for as long as the vehicle is registered in your name. You must show your proof of insurance to a police officer upon request. If you do not carry insurance, you can lose your vehicle or driver's license and may face hefty fines. If you have an accident while not carrying insurance, you automatically lose your driver's license for one year following the date of the accident.